Trinity Valley Community College

Public and Sports Information

100 Cardinal Dr.

Athens, TX 75751
(903) 675-6322 and (903) 675-6327

Office Hours:




Sports Information Officer

Public Information Officer

RSS News

RSS Sports

TVCC graduates 179 in summer ceremony
Posted: 10/14/2011 6:58:01 AM
Speaker Scott Williams encourages grads to “tackle the world with honesty and character."

TVCC Vice President of Instruction Dr. Jerry King awards Erica Jaquish of Malakoff with a plaque commemorating her graduation with highest honors. Jaquish was the only member of TVCC’s Summer 2010 graduating class to achieve a perfect 4.0 grade point average.

TVCC Vice President of Instruction Dr. Jerry King awards Erica Jaquish of Malakoff with a plaque commemorating her graduation with highest honors. Jaquish was the only member of TVCC’s Summer 2010 graduating class to achieve a perfect 4.0 grade point average.
Summer graduates at Trinity Valley Community College were encouraged to “tackle the world with honesty and character” by Athens attorney and former standout Cardinal quarterback/punter Scott Williams Friday night at Cardinal gym.

“It’s not about changing the world, it’s about changing the world one person at a time,” Williams told the 179 graduates receiving degrees and certificates. “Tackle the world with honesty and character. In the end, that’s what matters most.”

Williams, following a stellar four-year athletic career at Brownsboro High School, was a member of the Cardinals’ conference championship team in 1984. He went on to have a successful two-year playing career at the University of Central Arkansas before receiving his Doctor of Jurisprudence from the University of Arkansas Law School in 1992.

During his 20-minute address, Williams used life experiences to encourage graduates to be prepared to overcome adversities along the way.

“Persevering in tough times builds character,” Williams said. “Believe in yourself and don’t quit.

“You must decide what kind of mark you want to make”

Erica Lauren Jaquish was the graduate with the highest honors – a perfect 4.0 grade point average.

Graduating with high honors – a 3.8 grade point average – were Bradley Glen Fulton, Joshua D. Groom, Brandi M. Hendrix, Rafael Juarez,
Danielle Rawson and Sabrina J. Webb.

Shannon Brown, Luke Carmichael, Kasey Renee Coker, Dustin W. Crable, Kelli Nicole Etheridge, Cassandra L. Gibson, Rebecca Ann King, Scottie Sue Kovach, Andrea D. Lucas, Virginia Miranda, Mary Madeleine Nessner, Faith N. Olive, Charles Mark Platter, Jessica Danyell Price, Jennifer L. Starnes and Honey Vance graduate with honors.

In his opening remarks and welcome, TVCC president Dr. Glendon Forgey acknowledged Athens High School senior Griselda Beltran, who became the first graduate of the AHS Pinnacle program and the first to graduate with an associate degree a year before graduating high school. She is also the first member of her family to graduate college.

Students who received degrees/certificates from TVCC during Friday’s graduation were (listed alphabetically by hometown):
ARLINGTON: Michael A. Brobbey, CER.
ATHENS: Griselda Beltran, AA; Yana Bush, AA; Lesha Dunn, AA; Jacqueline E. Ford, CER; Bradley G. Fulton, AA; Joshua D. Groom, AA; John E. Hudson, CER; Rafael Juarez, AA; Stephen J. Keighley, AA; Rebecca A. Kling, AA; Lance M. Mcleod, AA; Virginia Miranda, AA; Harriet Y. Oberg, AA; Sabra N. Thompson, AA; Edgar Valdez, AA; Garland C. Watson, CER.
BOSSIER CITY: Brittney Dukes, AA.
BROWNSBORO: Allison B. Chambers, AA; Elyse K. Kidd, CER; Rusty Lawrence, AA; Amanda A. Passons, AAS; Amy N. Terry, CER.
BULLARD: Sabrina J. Webb, AA.
CANTON: Leisa C. Bacon, CER; Amanda J. Fears, CER.
CARTERVILLE: Jennifer L. Davidson, AA.
CAYUGA: James B. Alexander, AA.
CEDAR HILL: Julietter E. Pettus, AAS.
CHANDLER: John W. Smith, CER.
CLEVELAND: Demario D. Hines, AA.
COMBINE: Mary M. Nessner, AA; Jennifer L. Starnes, AA.
CRANDALL: Jonathan T. Barnes, CER; Danielle B. Rawson, AA; Heather L. Spencer, AA.
CROCKETT: Carrie Sullivan, AA.
CUMBY: Scottie S. Kovach, AA.
DALLAS: Ryan Gruner, AA; Charles M. Platter, AAS.
EDGEWOOD: Sheila M. Cecil, AA; Kasey R. Coker, AA; Canaan Sutton, AA.
ELKART: Shalon R. Marquis, CER.
ELKHART: Emily D. Burks, CER; Sean M. Mahon, AA; Charidy L. Walker, AAS.
EUSTACE: Samuel L. Austin, AA; Steven R. Cowan, AA; Kevin D. Duke, AA; Randall Johnson, CER; Heidi K. Wonhas, AA.
FORNEY: Lindsay R. Donaldson, CER; Marycarmen Hernandez, AAS; Jared W. McClung, CER; Lindsey M. Montoya, CER; Brian D. Wherry, AA.
FRANKSTON: Amanda Q. Harmon, AA.
FRUITVALE: Ryan L. Montgomery, AA.
FORT  WORTH: Aaron M. Gilstrap, AA; Sabrina D. McKinney, AA.
GARLAND: Serena Bryant, AA; Saqwanna E. Gipson, AA.
GOLDEN: Jenay Reavis, AAS.
GRAND SALINE: Andrea D. Lucas, AA.
GRAPELAND: Tammy J. Clark, CER; Ivey A. Goodnight, AA; Bridget Turner, CER.
GUN BARREL CITY: Melody M. Cook, AA; Shelby N. Smith, AA.
HEARTLAND: Ekonda M. Obiona, AA.
HUMBLE: Gisela Rosales, AA.
KAUFMAN: Jesus M. Cabrera, AAS; Lindsey E. Dixon, CER; Brian J. Dorris, AA; Brittany S. Fortner, AA; Karla A. Gaither, AA; Christine S. Johnson, CER; Brandi M. Leath, AA; William L. Matson, CER; Pamela H. Oden, AA; Candace B. Struck, AA; Eric M. Szczepkowski, AA; Melodie Zamarripa, CER.
KEMP: Stacy D. Castro, AAS; Elizabeth L. Jonas, AA; Terra L. McManus, AA; Paige E. Moore, CER; Cortney Stephens, AA.
LARUE: Sarah K. Preston, AA; Brianna Wallace, AA.
LINDALE: April D. Combs, AAS.
MABANK: Samantha L. Brooks, AA; Roger D. Bryant, CER; William A. Shelton, CER.
MALAKOFF: Tucker C. Baugh, AA; Erica Jaquish, AA.
MINEOLA: Cassandra L. Gibson, AAS.
MONTALBA: Tracy L. Bowden, CER; Heather L. Wilbanks, CER.
MURCHISON: Porter L. Kelly, CER; Justin R. McCleskey, CER; Summer N. Woody, CER.
NEW SMYRNA: Justin L. Isabell, AA.
PALESTINE: Brittany N. Abke, AA; Jamie N. Benton, CER; Jacob P. Britton, AA; Shannon L. Brown, AA; Luke Carmichael, AA; Kathleen R. Caston, AA; Becky M. Chapman, AA; Diamantina Crispin, AA; Amber M. Denson, AAS; Sweighgbe O. Ellis, CER; Toi L. Gatlin, CER; Amber N. Goff, CER; Mayra C. Gonzales, AA; Kerrie L. Johnson, CER; Tabatha M. Lane, AA; Christina M. Lee, CER; Charles A. Lively, CER; Christopher Lively, CER; Rayjeana C. Logan, AAS; Belinda A. Mitchell, AA; Kelly J. Neal, CER; Folasade Olalekan, CER; Katie Phillips, AA; Lisa M. Phillips, CER; Kendell D. Redd, AA; Misty K. Rogers, AA; Luz M. Roman, AA; Andre L. Smith, AA; Jean H. Warren, CER; Vera L. Watkins, AA; Casey A. Weatherly, CER; Tonya M. Werner, AA; Kasie D. Weston, CER.
POYNOR: Kelli N. Etheridge, AAT.
QUINLAN: Jessica D. Price, AA.
ROCKWALL: Whitney Sinks, AA.
ROYSE CITY: Dustin W. Crable, AAS.
RUSK: Felicia M. Brock, CER; Cammie McBroom, CER.
SAN AUGUSTINE: Ashley M. McEachern, AA.
AA – Associate of Arts
AAS – Associate of Applied Science
CER -- Certificate